Administrative Setup

The headquarters of the district is at Malkangiri. The Collector and The District Magistrate is the administrative head of the district. He is assisted by the Additional District Magistrate, one Sub-Collector, Deputy Collectors, seven Block Development Officers and seven Tahsildars for smooth functioning. There are also others District level Officers working under the general supervision of Collector. The district consists of only one sub-division namely Malkangiri, seven nos. of Tahasils namely Malkangiri, Chitrakonda, Motu, Mathili, Khairput, Kudumulugumma and Kalimela. In order to look after the developmental activities in rural areas, the district is divided into 7 nos. of C.D. Blocks. There were 3 Tahasils which subsequently became seven, 8 Police Stations, 1045 villages within the district during the decade 2001-2011. In addition to existing 8 police stations, 3 new police stations namely Paparmetla, Jodamba and Podia were created. Eleven new villages (4 each in Malkangiri and Motu P.S., one each in Orkel, Podia and Kalimela P.S.) were created during this decade. The detailed administrative set-up of the district is given as below:

District Headquarter Malkangiri
 Sub-Divisions(01)  Malkangiri
Tahasils(07) 01.Malkangiri,02.Chitrakonda,03.Motu,04.Kalimela,
 Blocks(07) Malkangiri,02.Kalimela,03.Podia,04.Korukonda,
 Towns 01.Malkangiri,02.Balimela,03.Chitrakonda,04.Kalimela
 Municipalities(01) 01.Malkangiri
NACs(01) 01.Balimela
 Police stations(12) 01.Malkangiri,02.Podia,03.Kalimela,04.MV-79,
05.Mathili,06.Motu,07.Energy PS( Malkangiri)
 Fire Stations(03) 01.Malkangiri,02.Kalimela and 03.Mathili
Gram Panchayats 111
Assembly Constituencies 02(146-Malkangiri and 147-Chitrakonda)
Parliamentary constituency Nawarangpur Loksabha MP